The Life Cycle of a Butterfly

In Glogpedia

by nsobey
Last updated 5 years ago


Toggle fullscreen Print glog
The Life Cycle of a Butterfly

Stage 4: The Adult Butterfly. The adult butterfly is the colorful butterfly that is seen. In this stage, the butterfly can be mobile and fly. The adults butterflies undergo egg-laying. The adult butterfly stage is also the stage where they migrate or colonize new habitats.

Insects like the butterfly have a "complete" life cycle. This means they grow in four separate stages. Each stage looks different and serves a different purpose in it's life.

Stage 1: The Egg. The egg is a tiny, round, object. The female butterfly attaches the egg to leaves, stems, or other objects, usually on or near the intended caterpillar food.

Stage 2: The Caterpillar. The caterpillar, or larva, is the long, worm-like stage of the butterfly. Caterpillars often have interesting patterns of stripes or spots. Sometimes, caterpillars may have spine-like hairs on them. The caterpillar stage is the feeding and growth stage. As it grows, it sheds its skin four or more times. It needs to do this because it's body is growing rapidly.

The Life Cycle of a Butterfly

Stage 3: The Chrysalis. The chrysalis, or pupa, is when a transformation happens within the caterpillar. The caterpillar's tissues are broken down and the adult butterfly's body is formed. The chrysalis, for most species of butterfly, is brown or green. This allows the chrysalis to blend into the background.


    There are no comments for this Glog.