In Glogpedia

by 22chenashlynn
Last updated 6 years ago


Toggle fullscreen Print glog

Source List-Taylor-Butler, Christine. Pluto: Dwarf Planet. New York: Childrens Pr; Updated edition, 2008. Print.

Pluto has five known moons. They are, Charon, Nix, Hydra, Kerberos, and Styx. Charon was discovered in 1978. This moon is half the size of pluto! It is so big that somethimes, pluto and charon are referred to as a double planet system. Nix and Hydra were discovered in June, 2005 by Hal weaver and a large team or large team of astronomers using the Hubble Space Telescope. They were photographed together. Nix got its name from the Greek goddess of darkness and night of mother of Charon. Hydra appeared to be about 25% brighter than Nix adn 10% larger. Kerberos was discovered in 2011 by astronomers while searching for rings around Pluto. Kerberos is estimated to be the second largest moon of pluto in diameter. Styx was discovered on June 26, 2012 by a team of astronomers using using the HUbble Space Telescope.

Pluto was considered a planet from 1930 to 2006. The reason why Pluto was no longer considered a planet was because Eris was discovered and it probably bigger than Pluto. Ever since then, Pluto has become a dwarf planet.

If Earth was the size of a door, Pluto would be the size of the head of a pin. However, Pluto is one of the biggest dwarf planets. It has a diameter of 1430 miles and has an estimated temperature of -360 degrees farenheit.

Pluto the Dwarf Planet

Pluto's Moons

Pluto!!!!!!Ashlynn Chen #4

Layers of Pluto

Pluto's Moons

It was discovered by Clyde W. Tombaugh on Febuary 18, 1930. It was the ninth planet to be discovered at the Lowell Observatory.

Your paragraph here

Your paragraph here

Your paragraph here

Your paragraph here

Comparison between Earth and Pluto

"Pluto: Overview." Solar System Exploration. NASA, n.d. Web. 9 Mar. 2015..


    There are no comments for this Glog.