Life cycle of the Bugs

by jiripillar
Last updated 5 years ago

Cycles & Processes

Toggle fullscreen Print glog
Life cycle of the Bugs

Life cycle of the Bugs

Monarch butterflies

The entire process is called complete metamorphosis and is one of two ways insects develop from an egg to an adult.

Interesting FacstcA black spot on an inside surface of its hind wing distinguishes the male Monarch butterflies from the females that have no such spotTheir process of communication uses colors and scents

Phase 4

Phase 1

Phase 2

When the skin fall off, the larva becomes a pupa. The monarch has no eyes and no antennae. It has no legs, and it cannot move. All of the major changes in body shape, size, and arrangement happen.

The skin splits behind the head, and the larva wiggles while it hangs upside down to remove the old skin.

After eating the shell, the larva begins to eat milkweed leaves. Milkweed is the only plant that monarch larvae will eat.

Phase 5

Phase 6

Citationadd resource you needSourceyour source list

After shedding their skins, monarch larvae continue to grow and will have to molt four more times.

Phase 3

A monarch begins life as a single, greenish egg attached to the underside of a milkweed leaf.

A newly emerged butterfly will wait two or more hours before it can fly. After the wings have hardened, the butterfly flies away to find its first meal. From this point on, the monarch drinks all of its food.


    There are no comments for this Glog.