Jean Piaget

In Glogpedia

by adiggs
Last updated 8 years ago

Social Studies
Historical biographies

Toggle fullscreen Print glog
Jean Piaget

Schemas: Piaget believed new experiences will alter and change how knowledge is perceived.Assimilation: This is the process of taking in new knowledge and assimilating the knowledge into schemas. However, this process is subjective.Accommodation: In this process, new information is adapted into prior schemas sometimes creating new schemas.Equilibration - Piaget believed there is a careful balance to assimilating previous knowledge and accommodating new knowledge. Equilibration, according to Piaget, explains how children can move through the stages of development.

4 Stages of Development:

1896-Born in Neuchatel, Switzerland 1936-Published The Origins of Intelligence in Children 1940-Became Director of the Psychology Laboratory 1972--- Defined the four stages of intellectual development 1974--- Published The Grasp of Consciousness 1980-- Died on September 17th

Stage 1:During this stage, infants and toddlers accquire information by manipulating objects and using their senses.Stage 2:During this stage, kids pretend play but still struggle with others' points of view.Stage 3:At this stage children are devloping logic, but their thinking is more rigid and uniformed.Stage 4:In the last stage, children begin using logic and reasoning, and more abstract thinking.

Lasting Impact

Jean Piaget's 4 stages describe cognitve development and are still used today.


Cherry, Kendra. Piaget’s Stages of Cognitive Development. Retrieved February 27, 2014,from, R. L. (1973). Jean Piaget: The Man and His Ideas. E.P. Dutton & Co., Inc. New YorkSantrock, J.S.(2013). Children. New York ,NY: McGraw-Hill.

Amy DiggsED 502

Key Terms:


Click here to see Piaget's Stages of Development


    There are no comments for this Glog.