Introduction-Julie Beck

In Glogpedia

by jabeck7890
Last updated 4 years ago

Discipline:
Personal
Subject:
Leisure

Toggle fullscreen Print glog
Introduction-Julie Beck

All about Me

Julie Beck

After moving to Georgia, I attended middle school and high school in Cobb County. I took 5 years of spanish in high school. I loved getting to speak another langauge. Unfortunately, I have lost a lot of my speaking abilities however I still have some understanding when spanish is spoken. During high school, I was very involed in orchestra and my youth group band where I played piano. I love music and it is big part of my life. Also in high school, I went on a Mission trip to the Bahamas where I got to experience their native culture and got exposure to a different language.

I was born in Buffalo, New York. I lived in a small town where everyone knew everybody. It had a small town feel even though we we located only 30 minutes from Niagara Falls, NY. I love getting to play in the snow and visiting Canada in our free time. Visiting Canada when I was young allowed me to experience another culture and langauge. Canada is where I first heard another langauge. When I was 10 years old, I moved to Georgia with my family. We moved because of my dad's job. I am thankful for the opportunities this move gave me which made me who I am today.

My Childhood

I graduated Kennesaw State University in May 2012 with my bachelors in Early Childhood Education. Through out college, I worked at an elementary school as an ASP instructor. This work experience exposured me to students of all elementary ages and helped me to develop my behavior management skills. I also built relationships with students and their families from different cultures and ethnicities.

After graduating from KSU, I taught second grade, special needs pre-k, and kindergarten. I am currently in my second year of teaching kindergarten. I teach at a Title 1 school in which I have taught ESOL students and EIP students every year. My school has 40% ELL students and 80% free and reduced lunch. I hope that from this course I am able to understand how language is acquired so that I can meet the needs of my ESOL students effectively.

In my free time, I like to run, read books, and do pinterest craft projects, and cook. I like to paint and plan events for my church group. I also like to plan fun lessons with my sister who is also a kindergarten teacher.

School Aged Years

Introduction

College

Work Experience

Hobbies


Comments

    There are no comments for this Glog.