Federal Courts

by Laurenblnde
Last updated 5 years ago

Social Studies

Toggle fullscreen Print glog
Federal Courts

Types of Jurisdiction:1) exclusive jurisdiction: only a certain court is allowed to hear and decide a case2) concurrent jurisdiction: jurisdiction is shared3) appellate jurisdiction: the authority to hear a case that is appealed from a lower court4) original jurisdiction: the authority to hear the case for the first time

M6L1 Practice Activity

The Judicial BranchLauren Whitenack

The Federal Court System

1) US District Courts: lowest level of federal courts where trials are held and lawsuits begin.2) US Court of Appeals: next level of federal court system, those who lose a trial in a district court can appeal to a court of appeals which reviews the fairness of the previous trial. These courts do not decide the winner of a case or if a convicted person is innocent or guilty. 3) US Supreme Court: the highest court of the US, responsible for judicial review (deciding if laws are constitutional) and hearing cases that are petitioned to be heard.


    There are no comments for this Glog.