In Glogpedia

by pbroyle1
Last updated 6 years ago

Social Studies

Toggle fullscreen Print glog

Connecticut was one of the original 13 colonies located on North America’s Atlantic Coast. The 13 colonies were divided into three geographical areas, including New England, Middle and Southern colonies. Connecticut was a New England colony. Providence of Connecticut was an English colony in North America that was English until it joined the 12 other colonies in the rebellion against Great Britain and became the U.S state of Connecticut.

ConnecticutBryce La Rue

•Founded by Thomas Hooker in 1636•The name Connecticut was taken from the Native Indian phrase meaning “river whose water is driven by tides or winds.”•First settlement in Connecticut was made in present day Hartford in 1633 by Dutch colonists from the New Netherlands.•Natural Resources: Fish, whales, wood. No good farming soil.•Founded in 1636 by Thomas Hooker•Major towns/cities: Hartford, New Haven•Major industries: Agriculture (wheat, corn, fishing)•Geography: Narrow lowlands and hilly eastern upland. Mountains, thick trees rivers and poor rocky soil (unsuitable for crops)•New England Colonies were the coldest of the three colonies. Mild, short summers, long cold winters, less disease than warmer colonies.•Economy: shipbuilding and trading rum.•Government: Connecticut was governed as a charter colony.


    There are no comments for this Glog.