Butterfly Life Cycle

by kpduda
Last updated 6 years ago


Toggle fullscreen Print glog
Butterfly Life Cycle

A Butterfly's Life Cycle

Four Stages

The adult butterfly is the reproductive and mobile stage for the species. The adults undergo courtship, mating, and egg-laying. The adult butterfly or moth is also the stage that migrates or colonizes new habitats.

There are approximately 20,000 species of butterflies in the world

The female attaches the egg to leaves, stems, or other objects, usually on or near the intended caterpillar food.

Stage 1

Stage 3

The caterpillar is the long, worm-like stage of the butterfly.

The chrysalis is the transformation stage within which the caterpillar tissues are broken down and the adult insect's structures are formed.

Stage 4

Stage 2



    There are no comments for this Glog.