BUDDHISM (by straightastudent23)

by MrReGlog
Last updated 1 year ago

Social Studies
Religious Studies

Toggle fullscreen Print glog
BUDDHISM (by straightastudent23)

SIDDHARTHA GUATAMA"Buddha"The first Buddha was Siddhartha Gautama. Buddha means the enlightened one. Archaeological excavations taken place in 1995 in Nepal shows that Gautama was born there and lived from about 563-483 B.C. There is not alot of auethentc information about hs life, but most followers say he was born a prince and lived in luxuary throughout his childhood. When Gautama was 20 he married the princess Yasodhara and they had a son. But when he was 29 he had 4 visions. The first showed an old man, the second he saw a sick man, in the third he saw a corpse and in the final vision he met a wandering holy man. The first 3 visions persuaded him to believe that life involves aging, sickness then death. The final vision persuaded him to leave his son and wife to seek religious enlightenment. Gautama becam a wandering monk and for 6 yearrs he suffered through self denial. He finally decided that self torture will not bring him self enlightenment, so he abandoned those practices. Gautama then wandered into a village and sat under a Bo tree and began to meditate. A few hours later enlightenment came to Gautama and when others heard of this they began to call him Buddha. He learned that people could be in the state of nirvana (Enlightenment and happiness) by freeing themselves of all desires and worldly things. For the rest of Buddha's life he preached and created the Dharma which means saving truth. He began to obtain many followers and he had many stories describing him as his fame grew. Unfortunately at the age of 80 Buddha became sick and died. He had a funeral and his body was burned. Then his bones were distributed as sacred relics.


Basic Buddhism BeliefsIn this religion there is no belief of gods. The followers believe that after you die you are reborn in a constant cycle of reincarnation and your karma in one life decides you luck in the next. Karma is viewed as actions with moral consequences and they believe that Buddha is a state of perfect being or enlightenment. They follow Buddha's teachings to reach enlightenment.


SANGHA DAYSangha day is also known as Fourfold Assembly or Magha Puja Day and is the second most important Buddhist festival. It is celebrated in honour of the Sangha/ Buddhist community. For some Buddhists Sangha is only for monks and nuns. It is also a chance for people to show their commitment to Buddhist practices and traditions. Sangha is a word used for a Buddhist spiritual community. Buddhists celebrate the ideal of creating a spiritual community, and also the actual spiritual community which is trying to be created. Sangha is precious to buddhists as without those in the community to look up to or share aspirations with, spiritual life would be very difficult. This is a traditional time for exchange of gifts. Celebration methods vary, but may include chanting, meditation, the lighting of oil lamps, and the reaffirmation of people's commitment to Buddhist practices.

DHARMA DAYOn the eighth lunar month of the Indian calendar Monks and Buddhists suspend their normadic lifestyles for 3 months to celebrate the beginnings of Buddha's teachings. They do this by reading Buddha's scriptures. The Monks and Buddhists live together and use the 3 months for meditaion and reflection. Once the 3 months has past and the monsoon season is over they resume traveling and passing on Buddha's teachings. Dharma day is now seen as a time to show gratitude to the buddha and other enlightened teachers for passing on their knowledge.

MORE FACTS ABOUT BUDDHISMORIGIN- Indian about 500 B.C.PLACES OF WORSHIP-Temples which hold shrines and are used for rituals and acts of devotion.NUMBER OF FOLLOWERS- 350 million today.RELIGOUS SYMBOLS- Include the Wheel of Life the Dharma and Sangha.

LOSARLosar is the most important holiday in Tibet. It celebrates Tibetan new year is celebrated in February, but the exact date varies each year according to the lunar calendar. Losar is celebrated as a three day festival. On the first day celebrations are mostly restricted to the family, and the second and third days are the the time to visit and exchange gifts with friends and other relatives. It is also a time for Tibetans to visit monasteries and make offerings. Losar activities involve those that symbolise purification, and welcoming in the new. People wear new clothing and special food is prepared, buildings are then whitewashed and cleaned for the occasion. Buddhist monks decorate the monasteries with fine decorations, and conduct religious ceremonies.Rituals are performed to scare away evil spirits, and people throw feasts and dance.This festival eventually became the annual Buddhist festival known today.



Sevenfold Puja Ritual1. Worship/PujaLamps are lit to symbolize wisdom or enlightenment. Offerings are placed before the Buddha image. (ex.flowers to symbolize impermanece of nature, incense to create a calming/uplifting effect on the senses), different offerings are used depending on the nature of the ritual. Sometimes they include flowers, rice, fruit, other produce, jewels or water.2. Obeisance/VandanaThis step is where the aspects of the triratna (Buddha, Dharma and Sangha) are honured. People will show appreciation by bowing down or through total prostrator (face down on the floor) before the image and teachers of Dharma.3. Seeking refuge/SaranaThis step refers to the trirtna and the quest for dharma refuge may be obtained against the cycle of death and rebirth. The protection of the Buddha is sought and the bonds of samsara are cast off.Points Between 3 and 4Precepts/ sikkhapavani may be uttered. The precepts contain an undertaking to abstain for sins (up to 10). Ex: sexual relations/kamesu micchara, telling lies/musavada, slander/ pisanavaca, animosity/ byapada.4. Confession/ Papa-desanaThis step is more about coming to terms with ones short comings, then unburdening sins (mainly ignorance/ follishness that obstruct the path of enlightenment.)5. Rejoincing in Merit/ PunyarumdanaAt this point people converse and rejoice in their good deeds by ones self and others.6. Transfer of Merit/ ParinamanaThis step consists of a positive state of mind and spirit by the fact that the merit earned in punyanumodana may be given to help ease the suffering of others.7. Self Surrender/ AtambhavadiparityagahThis step is described as poetic, innersacrafice of a persons physical self and pleasures, body, speech and mind without remorse or sense of loss to help the broader fulfilment of humanity.

FUNERALSThe deceased are placed in a casket decorated with clothes and flowers and then to a temple where monks chant scriptures conceins karma and rebirth. Relatives usualy make offerings to local monks in hope of gaining merit to transfer to the deceased.

WEDDINGSWeddings do not count as religous events. Thread is wound around the the Buddha statue and the presents. During a wedding hymns are chanted and the chief monk gives the newly weds a blessing, they go out to a local temple with friends and family.


THE 3 JEWELSUnlike other religions, Buddhism doesn't have any gods. Buddhists believe in the 3 jewels. The 3 jewels are to seek comfort ing one, the Buddha, two, his teachings called the Dharma and three, the religious community he formed called the Sangha.



    There are no comments for this Glog.